Site Access Problem

Post all your computer, tech, and gadget talk here.

Re: Site Access Problem

Postby Ensign Janitor Tzap » Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:02 pm

kirschy wrote:
Ok I did a trace route on another computer in the house and it did get hung up on the same IP address. The odd thing though is I was still able to access the site on it, though it did take a little longer then usual to initially load the forum. This is making less and less sense.

That (slow load time) sounds like the data was re-routed and for the stuff that didn't make it the first time was resent via a different route. Basically Gecko, it normally doesn't matter how the data is routed since TCP/IP has provisions for resending data (which is why every TCP/IP packet has an ACK/SEN number) that gets lost and the Internet is designed to be able to route data to a given site/server around any breaks in the system (which is what you basically have). The problem you're occurring happens when (1. an ISP's peering agreements only leave one path to a site. (2. the break in the route is far enough along that its a last mile issue (essentially there's only one physical path/ISP to a given server). The thing is option two shouldn't be what's happening here. Neither should option 1 really. It really does sound like someone fouled up a router configuration and its taking a while for the DNS servers to figure out they need to route around it.


Hmm....

I wonder if it is possible that it is the DNS servers.

About a few months ago I couldn't access the Megavideo site at all.
I found out that it was due to their DNS servers being fouled up.
But some people found that if they used OpenDNS they could gain access to the site again.
{I posted about this on the streaming video thread.}
INSTRUCTIONS:
Go to this address: https://www.opendns.com/start/
Click on the COMPUTER.
Then select your Operating System {OS}.
Follow the instructions.
You will need to sign up for this, but it is FREE!
Once you get your E-mail Confirmation.
Close your browser, and re-start your computer.

See if that may help.


Signed: Ensign Janitor Tzap
User avatar
Ensign Janitor Tzap
Senpai
Senpai
 
Posts: 3468
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: Space Garbage Hauler the Listing Pig.

Re: Site Access Problem

Postby si1vergecko » Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:21 pm

Well now this problem has gotten more interesting. Right now I am using my mom's Dell laptop to access the site normally. With my laptop still having the same issues. Now with my Mom's HP laptop I could NOT access the site or chat but it at least said could not load page. I find it interesting that out of all three laptops the two that could not access it are both HPs.
Image
User avatar
si1vergecko
Senpai
Senpai
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: In the center of Michigan

Re: Site Access Problem

Postby Ensign Janitor Tzap » Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:53 pm

Hmm.....

That is strange.

Check if you got a windows update in recently.
Or did updates to any of the Virus/Spyware or Firewall programs.

A lot of times the windows updates will cause problems with the other programs.

If you did do an update on your Mom's HP.
Do a system restore to a date that you knew it was working OK.
Then disable the Auto-Update in windows.
Make a restore point.
Go out to the update site and manually down load and install the update/s one at a time.
After you install the first update.
Check it if the HP is still working OK.
If it is, then make another restore point, and move on to the next update to down load and install.
Keep doing this until you find the one that is causing the problem.
Then just jump back to the previous restore point.

I'd also look in the Microsoft forums for info about connection issues with HP Laptops.

EDIT:
I found this: http://social.answers.microsoft.com/For ... 519e96c4c/


Signed: Ensign Janitor Tzap
User avatar
Ensign Janitor Tzap
Senpai
Senpai
 
Posts: 3468
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: Space Garbage Hauler the Listing Pig.

Re: Site Access Problem

Postby si1vergecko » Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:21 pm

Here is another piece to add to this puzzle. I cannot believe I did not try this sooner but when I plugged my computer directly into my cable modem I was able to access the site. Still cannot do so wirelessly with the home router with this or the other HP laptop in the house though the Dell has no problems. This just keeps getting more and more weird.
Image
User avatar
si1vergecko
Senpai
Senpai
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: In the center of Michigan

Re: Site Access Problem

Postby kirschy » Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:51 pm

si1vergecko wrote:Here is another piece to add to this puzzle. I cannot believe I did not try this sooner but when I plugged my computer directly into my cable modem I was able to access the site. Still cannot do so wirelessly with the home router with this or the other HP laptop in the house though the Dell has no problems. This just keeps getting more and more weird.

That may be a wireless router (I'm assuming you have a cable modem and a separate wireless router?) then, not a DNS problem. This just keeps getting weirder and weirder.
Image
User avatar
kirschy
Shikaisha
Shikaisha
 
Posts: 5949
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:51 pm

Re: Site Access Problem

Postby Ensign Janitor Tzap » Mon Nov 09, 2009 1:00 am

Sounds like the route has issues.

Access the routers setup.
Does it have its own firewall?
If it does, try disabling it.

Then try the laptops, and see if it helps.

If that fails, then go back to the router setup and make the IP addresses for the laptop permanent.
Instead of having them automatically rotate to another IP address.

If that doesn't work.
Try a different router.

Ok, I'm out of Ideas now.


Signed: Ensign Janitor Tzap
User avatar
Ensign Janitor Tzap
Senpai
Senpai
 
Posts: 3468
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: Space Garbage Hauler the Listing Pig.

Re: Site Access Problem

Postby si1vergecko » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:17 pm

Ok suddenly the problem is suddenly gone since I am accessing the site on my own comp without a proxy. Don't know what happened exactly but not complaining.
Image
User avatar
si1vergecko
Senpai
Senpai
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: In the center of Michigan

Re: Site Access Problem

Postby Ensign Janitor Tzap » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:35 pm

si1vergecko wrote:Ok suddenly the problem is suddenly gone since I am accessing the site on my own comp without a proxy. Don't know what happened exactly but not complaining.
Have you done a trace-route lately?
I'd be curious as to what came up, if anything.

Also....
Did you put in the latest MicroSquish patches, and or updates?
I just got several in the last week, that did upgrades to the OS.
Maybe they fixed that issue in the software.

You should check the other laptop as well, and see if it is working now.


Signed: Ensign Janitor Tzap
User avatar
Ensign Janitor Tzap
Senpai
Senpai
 
Posts: 3468
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: Space Garbage Hauler the Listing Pig.

Previous

Return to Tech Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron